All races run for the Round Rock ISD Board of Directors


Seventeen people filed for the five seats in the Round Rock School District Board of Trustees election in November.

Seats Place 3, 4, 5 and 6 will be decided in a general election at the end of the term of these directors. The Place 1 seat will be decided in a special election following Jun Xiao’s resignation over the summer.

Council members are elected for a four-year term. The winner of the special election for the seat of place 1 will be eligible for re-election in 2024.

Filing applications for the regular election closed on August 22 and August 25 for the special election.

The five incumbents have asked for re-election and will each have at least one challenger.

Amber Feller, 49, will face two opponents as she seeks re-election for her second term in the No. 3 spot. Orlando Salinas, 35, a chief financial officer at Zoom Contracting and Consulting, has filed for the seat. Feller will also be challenged by Maryam Zafar, 20, a student at the University of Texas.

Cory Vessa, 44, who occupies the Place 4 seat, will be challenged by Linda Avila, 53, an education diagnostician; Jill Farris, 38, housewife; and Alicia Markum, 39, a stay-at-home mom.

Amy Weir, 56, who sits in the Place 5 seat, will face three challengers: Joshua Billingsley, a 40-year-old business intelligence analyst; Stefan Bryant, a 51-year-old grants manager; and Christie Slape, a 52-year-old former professional teacher and organizer.

Tiffanie Harrison, 36, will also be seeking re-election to a second term in the Place 6 seat. Former Austin City Councilman Don Zimmerman, 62, has asked to run against her.

Four people will run for the Place 1 seat against Johnson, 47, who was named to the seat on July 25. John Keagy, a 41-year-old engineer, is also in the running for the seat; Yuriy Semchyshyn, a 41-year-old software engineer; and Estevan Zarate, a 51-year-old teacher and actor.

Keagy, Salinas, Farris, Slape and Zimmerman work together in a coalition they call “the slate”. Zimmerman said the group largely agrees with the more conservative views of directors Mary Bone and Danielle Weston, who are not eligible for re-election.

Bone and Weston have long been at odds with fellow council members on issues ranging from mask mandates in schools to the hiring of Superintendent Hafedh Azaiez a year ago. In April, a Williamson County judge dismissed a lawsuit that Weston and Bone had brought against the other board members over proposed no-confidence resolutions.


About Author

Comments are closed.