2011 BEYA Scientist of the Year is reappointed as a member of the National Science Board – US Black Engineer


President Biden reappointed Victor R. McCrary, Ph.D., as a member of the National Science Board, the governing body of the National Science Foundation. A respected scientist, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) and recipient of multiple awards at the BEYA STEM conference, Dr. McCrary is among the top nominees announced by the White House last week.

In the file photo, McCrary poses with a winner and emcee on the podium at the annual Black Engineer of the Year Awards.

According to the National Science Board, the twenty-five board members serve six-year terms, and one-third of the board is appointed every two years. McCrary was first appointed to the National Science Board in 2016 by President Barack Obama.

As one of the new board members in 2017, McCrary proposed a company-wide initiative to support the blue-collar STEM workforce, outlining his rationale in a presentation. during a session of the National Science and Engineering Policy Committee. Blue-collar workers are people without a 4-year or higher degree in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM).

In September 2018, McCrary wore two hats as vice president of research at Morgan State University and a member of the National Science Board when he appeared on the first Congressional Black Caucus panel on Blue Collar STEM.

Last spring, wearing two hats as vice president-elect of the NSB and vice president for research and graduate programs/professor of chemistry at the University of the District of Columbia, McCrary led efforts to facilitate discussions in the council’s series on the successes of minority-serving institutions in preparing STEM talent. The roundtable is part of NSB’s efforts to raise awareness of national STEM talent development strategies, particularly among minority groups.

McCrary is committed to the success of people of color in STEM and represents the views of scientific and technical leaders in minority-serving institutions. He is a past president of the National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE) and a Fellow of the American Chemical Society.

As Senior Vice President for Research and Economic Development at Morgan State University, he was instrumental in shaping a research strategy at Morgan State, expanding programs through engagement with federal and state agencies (a total of $32 million in 2016), increasing the university’s intellectual capacity. Morgan State’s real estate portfolio and positioning as Maryland’s public urban research university.

McCrary also served as Business Line Director for Science and Technology at Johns Hopkins University’s Applied Physics Laboratory. He has led over $60 million in investments for basic and applied research projects targeted at national security and space applications. He has authored over sixty technical articles and co-edited two books during his career at AT&T Bell Laboratories and the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

He has also served on numerous committees, including the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine’s Intelligence Science and Technology Panel, the Citadel’s Electrical and Computer Engineering Advisory Board, and the Penn Applied Research Laboratory Advisory Board. State. He has served on the subcommittee for the US Air Force Institute of Technology, the board of directors for the Maryland Innovation Initiative of the Maryland Technology Development Corporation, and the PubMed Central National Advisory Committee for the National Institutes of Health.

McCrary has received several accolades and awards over the course of his career, including an Alumni Award for Research Excellence from the Catholic University of America and the Distinguished Alumni Award from Howard University, two anchor institutions in his hometown of Washington. DC.

In 1990, the annual BEYA STEM conference presented McCrary with one of its first career awards as Most Promising Scientist of the Year. Two decades later, he was honored as Scientist of the Year at the same conference organized by Career Communications Group (CCG). In 2005, he was featured as one of the top 50 scientific minorities by a GCC publication. Other awards he has received include the U.S. Department of Commerce Gold Medal in 2000 and the NOBCChE Percy Julian Award in 2002.


About Author

Comments are closed.